Guest Reviews        

Reviews from FlipKey, VRBO and TripAdvisor 
 

Wonderful stay!

 
We arrived and found the property to be neat and clean and ready for our stay. We found everything required to have an awesome stay. We especially enjoyed the Gentle Winds property. The pool and beach area was beautiful and well taken care of. The beach shack was an awesome bonus for drinks and lunch. I would highly recommend a stay here. Suggestions for the owner would be a few more bath towels and some sharp knives, otherwise everything was excellent.
  •  

    AMAZING "Prictures do not this condo justice"

     
    I stayed at Calypso Condo for two weeks in February. This condo is fabulous and totally excided my expectations. It's location, Gentle Winds, is a private community with 40 acres of beautifully manicured grounds complete with Par 3 golf course, tennis courts, basketball and play areas for children. The beautiful pool is located in front of a gorgeous sandy beach. There is also a snack shop that offers a delightful selection of food and drinks daily. Calypso Condo is furnished beautifully with views from all three spacious patios. From the minute you walk in the front door you feel at home. It's immaculate and is fully equipped with everything you may need for a fabulous get away. We enjoyed several meals on the screened in patio off the living room. Evening cocktails on the upstairs veranda with the ocean view and rustling palms were also delightful. With all the extra amenities Calypso Condo has you don't have to venture out, but if you do the sites and sounds of the island are close at hand. The two weeks I spent at Calypso Condo were far to short. I look forward to returning to this "Vacation Paradise"
  •  

    January 2017 at Calypso Condo

     
    My husband and I stayed at Calypso Condo for the month of January. The whole experience was ideal. This condo is completely renovated and furnished as a lovely home not just a rental unit. It's immaculate and has everything needed for cooking and playing: snorkel equipment, tennis rackets, noodles and much more. We had friends staying with us for a week and with two master bedrooms and baths there was great privacy. The third bedroom and bath would easily accommodate two more people. Morning coffee on the upstairs master bedroom deck, breakfast and lunch on the veranda, and barbecues on the second upstairs deck were favorites. The views from each location were lovely. With the doors open and ceiling fans on we never felt the need to use the air-conditioning. The sun, temperature, trade winds, great local restaurants, salt water pool, and the sounds of the waves breaking on the beach complete this piece of paradise. We look forward to returning to Calypso Condo.
  •   Montville nj

    Calypso Condo still lives up to its name

     
    In Greek mythology Calypso was a nymph of exceptional beauty who lived on a hidden island and kept a lover her prisoner for years. Perhaps that's why the Flanagans named their Gentle Winds home "Calypso", a beautiful place where you wouldn't mind being held captive for years. This was the second time that our family (husband, 16-year old, 13-year-old and 9-year old, plus my parents in their mid-70's) was fortunate enough to spend 9 days on St. Croix staying at Calypso Condo. The word "condo" though doesn't do it justice. Calypso becomes your home for the time you are there. Calypso still has every amenity you could possibly desire. Toiletries in the bathroom, novels on the bookshelf, a well-stocked bar and some sunscreen (hats, too) await you upon your arrival so that you can start relaxing without doing that first run to the supermarket upon landing. Furnishings are clean, fresh, comfortable and stylish, loads of local art adorn the brightly-painted walls. We love when the Shack opens its' shutters each day around 11 so the kids can get their fruit daiquiris. Food is always fresh and everyone had a favorite "drink of the day". The Caribbean Sea beckons with its warm, lapping waves and snorkeling right off the beach, but at night the Gentle Winds pool lights are irresistible for that night swim. Its a tough decision to leave Gentle Winds to explore the island but when you do, we recommend Rainbow Beach in Frederiksted, the beach restaurant and activities are a fun way to spend a day. Crab races on the boardwalk in Christiansted was a highlight. Un Amore has fresh Italian specialties that will inspire you to order something from every course with a wine selection to match. One day set your alarm and drive the 40 minutes or so to see the sunrise at Point Udall. The drive on this part of the island is gorgeous in the pre-dawn hours. Lots more recommendations in the Calypso Condo Guest Book. Snag this place if it is available.
  •  

    Wonderful, once again!

     
    Calypso Condo at Gentle Winds is just perfect! This is our 2nd year staying 2 weeks per year, always clean, well stocked with games, toys, tennis equipment, beach gear, golf clubs and balls, etc... Any issue we've had Angela has happily taken care of within the same day. This condo is centrally located and whether you just want to sit by the huge pool and soak up the sun or be super active and go diving, snorkeling, and horseback riding, this is the place for you! We have 4 kids and they loved the basketball court, ping pong table, shuffle board, and board games. The condo is designed so our family could spread out into the 3 bedrooms/3 baths/ 3 balconies. We spent a lot of time at Cane Bay this year getting our diving certification, and it's only 10 minutes down the road. We also did See Thru Kayaks at night into the bioluminescent bay which is only a minute away. We needed to keep up with emails while on vacation and had no problem; internet connection was more then adequate. We ate most of our meals at the condo and had the best meats from Annaly farms and Seaside. Other items we found at Plaza West, just be really careful buying meat there! Annaly farms has all kinds of meat and it's super fresh! We had a fantastic meal at Blue Water Terrace on the east side of the island and several great meals at Eat at Cane Bay. We also attended several church services at Southgate Baptist Church also on the east side. Great people and great preaching!! We really don't think there's a better place to stay on the island!
  •   Madisonville, LA

    Gorgeous condo -perfect vacation

     
    Our family, 7 members this time, from 21 to 71 all enjoyed staying from June 6-11 this year. The condo has 3 nice bedrooms and full baths so everyone was extremely comfortable. The owner has decorated the condo so beautiful and interesting, as well as nice little touches for the guests. The views and soft breezes are so special. Everything was provided, except a small amount of food you need to buy. The cupboards are full of spices, basic food supplies, and bathroom needs. There are books, DVDs , wifi, and music. We ate 2 nights at Rowdy Joes, only 10 minutes away, and were a amazed at the food. Hopefully we will be able to come back to this peaceful, safe, and very enjoyable condo.
  •  

    Best family vacation- ever

     
    The condo is just as nice as described. I think it is more important to note that Barbara is an attentive owner. She promptly answered my emails and followed up with us on vacation. Barbara also has a contact person in the area in case the condo has something unexpected happen. My husband and I enjoy snorkeling and the beach at the condo is a nice, easy place to snorkel. The view of the surrounding hills and forest is breathtaking and is visible from land and sea. We would definitely want to vacation at the condo again.
  • Beautiful location and very comfortable accommodations!”

    The condo was just as described, beautiful! Right on the beach, pool on the property, gorgeous grounds and very clean, comfortable accommodations. Everything went off without a hitch. Beautiful and safe condo, great for large families or groups of friends. All three rooms have its' own bathroom which was wonderful. The kitchen had everything you might need for cooking during your stay. Washer and dryer looked brand new. Three different balconies looked out onto the grounds and ocean. Storage room had pool floats and snorkeling gear for families to borrow. The owner seemed to have thought of everything. Free wi-fi, satellite TV, books, extra covers, towels and linens. Be sure to pack some of your own food from the states as groceries are about double of what they will cost you stateside. Wonderful family vacation!

  •  

    Wonderful, once again!

    Calypso Condo at Gentle Winds is just perfect! This is our 2nd year staying 2 weeks per year, always clean, well stocked with games, toys, tennis equipment, beach gear, golf clubs and balls, etc... Any issue we've had Angela has happily taken care of within the same day. This condo is centrally located and whether you just want to sit by the huge pool and soak up the sun or be super active and go diving, snorkeling, and horseback riding, this is the place for you! We have 4 kids and they loved the basketball court, ping pong table, shuffle board, and board games. The condo is designed so our family could spread out into the 3 bedrooms/3 baths/ 3 balconies. We spent a lot of time at Cane Bay this year getting our diving certification, and it's only 10 minutes down the road. We also did See Thru Kayaks at night into the bioluminescent bay which is only a minute away. We needed to keep up with emails while on vacation and had no problem; internet connection was more then adequate. We ate most of our meals at the condo and had the best meats from Annaly farms and Seaside. Other items we found at Plaza West, just be really careful buying meat there! Annaly farms has all kinds of meat and it's super fresh! We had a fantastic meal at Blue Water Terrace on the east side of the island and several great meals at Eat at Cane Bay. We also attended several church services at Southgate Baptist Church also on the east side. Great people and great preaching!! We really don't think there's a better place to stay on the island!
    • Stayed: July 2016
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO
  • Gorgeous condo -perfect vacation

     
    Our family, 7 members this time, from 21 to 71 all enjoyed staying from June 6-11 this year. The condo has 3 nice bedrooms and full baths so everyone was extremely comfortable. The owner has decorated the condo so beautiful and interesting, as well as nice little touches for the guests. The views and soft breezes are so special. Everything was provided, except a small amount of food you need to buy. The cupboards are full of spices, basic food supplies, and bathroom needs. There are books, DVDs , wifi, and music. We ate 2 nights at Rowdy Joes, only 10 minutes away, and were a amazed at the food. Hopefully we will be able to come back to this peaceful, safe, and very enjoyable condo.
    • Stayed: June 2016
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

    Owner response: Glad you could enjoy our expanded set of DVD's. Come back soon.

    Best family vacation- ever

     
    The condo is just as nice as described. I think it is more important to note that Barbara is an attentive owner. She promptly answered my emails and followed up with us on vacation. Barbara also has a contact person in the area in case the condo has something unexpected happen. My husband and I enjoy snorkeling and the beach at the condo is a nice, easy place to snorkel. The view of the surrounding hills and forest is breathtaking and is visible from land and sea. We would definitely want to vacation at the condo again.
    • Stayed: June 2016
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Beautiful setting and wonderful accommodations!

     
    The condo was just as described, beautiful! Right on the beach, pool on the property, gorgeous grounds and very clean, comfortable accommodations. Everything went off without a hitch. Beautiful and safe condo, great for large families or groups of friends. All three rooms have its' own bathroom which was wonderful. The kitchen had everything you might need for cooking during your stay. Washer and dryer looked brand new. Three different balconies looked out onto the grounds and ocean. Storage room had pool floats and snorkeling gear for families to borrow. The owner seemed to have thought of everything. Free wi-fi, satellite TV, books, extra covers, towels and linens. Be sure to pack some of your own food from the states as groceries are about double of what they will cost you stateside. Wonderful family vacation!
    • Stayed: June 2016
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO
  • “Beautiful Calypso Condo”

    We would highly recommend Calypso Condo to one and all. We have been in love with St. Croix, and with Gentle Winds for years now, and have stayed in various units throughout this lovely community. This condo exceeded all of our expectations. First of all, it is absolutely beautiful, painted in sunny gold tones, and decorated with stunning tropical art and furniture. The palm trees on both sides of the unit complete the tropical setting. Having the trees surrounding the condo adds the sound of birdsong to the other best sound on the island -- the sound of waves. We were so impressed by how well-supplied this condo is in every respect, from the kitchenware to beach and pool toys. Everything in the unit feels very upscale, from the mahogany bar and granite countertops to the lovely china in the kitchen. Games, books, a super TV and DVD system make the place feel like home. Having stayed at other very nice condos at beautiful Gentle Winds, we can tell you that this one has been updated considerably; it is super comfortable, and a real treat to inhabit! Barbara Flanagan (owner) has done a wonderful job with customer service, as well as with refurbishing and maintaining Calypso Condo. She always responded to questions and requests right away. She was not just prompt, but always very direct and pleasant in her communications with us. We felt that if we had experienced any problem, she would have addressed it immediately. For those of you who have never stayed at Gentle Winds -- it has one of the best beaches on the island, with great snorkeling, swimming, and lunch at the Sandy Toes beach shack. it is also a very friendly community. We can't imagine anyone not loving this place. Have fun!!!!

    “Above and beyond expectations”

    Calypso is a wonderful vacation home. The attention to detail is above and beyond! Our grandsons were in the upstairs loft and were ecstatic. Everything is so well thought out and organized. Coming in the front door and looking through the condo and out to the lawn and ocean is magical. So glad we stayed on St John first and saved the best for last. Our boys found other boys to play with and their activities included: swimming, shuffleboard, basketball, golf, tennis, hermit crab races on the ping pong table and watching movies at night. Our family had a delightful time! The island has a relaxed feel and after a few days we all agreed that Calypso was a spectacular choice for our stay. Barbara, the owner, did a great job communicating with us prior to and during our trip. Thanks for your hospitality Barbara.

    Lovely Condo!

     
    We had a very relaxed vacation in St Croix, due in large part to Calypso Condo. Barbara has thought of everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay! The Condo is well stocked with beach items , well stocked bar and also many items in the kitchen are available. The Gentle Winds property is beautiful and was never crowded. The beach and common areas are in great shape. We did not need to use the air conditioning, just opened the doors and had the ceiling fans on- the breeze was cool and the sound of the surf lulled us to sleep each night. This is one of our best VRBO rentals- would love to return!!

    A dream for my family and 2 small kids.

     
    We arrived from Puerto Rico in the evening to this wonderful hidden gem to get away from the Cold Norwegian Winter. We had a nice welcome, and the condo really exceeded all our expectations. Clean, spacious, and gorgeous, big and comfortable bedrooms. The kids loved the Bbach and the pool, and still talk about it, we all just want to come back here. Opposite of our experiences in Puerto Rico.   Barbara was very decent to communicate with and to rent from. We can really recommend this to future guests.

    Excellent Condo

     
    My wife and I greatly enjoyed our 8 day stay at the Calypso Condo. The listing description and photos were very accurate. It was clean and well maintained. The view was excellent from both floors. Barbara was very prompt and accurate in her communications regarding the reservation. We enjoyed the snorkeling at Cane Bay, the Estate Whim Plantation, the St. George Botanical Garden, and eating at restaurants on the Christiansted boardwalk.

     

    Perfectly Lovely

     
    Our group of six (3 couples) thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Gentle Winds Calypso Condo ! It had all of the amenities we were looking for! We cooked most of our meals at "home." The kitchen was well equipped and all appliances were new and in good working order. The bedrooms were perfect for each couple. The grounds were impeccably kept and we spend most of our time between the beach and the pool. I will most definitely come to this condo on our next trip to St Croix! Barbara was a fantastic host to work with. Very prompt with answers and communication prior, during and after our trip. Flawless trip. Amazing location. Do this, you won't be sorry! Very satisfied. 10 trips to STX- by far, the best rental to date!

     

    Perfect Family Vacation Site

     
    My husband and I took my son, his wife, and two children (7 & 10) to Gentle Winds, Calypso Condo. The property is very well maintained and has everything one needs for a Caribbean vacation – beach, pool, tennis, golf, and peace and quiet. The condo itself was also very well kept, comfortable, spacious, and well-stocked with dishes, beach paraphernalia, and other personal items. The duplex structure of the condo also afforded my husband and I privacy as the second floor contain a master bedroom, bath, living area, and two balconies. Also, the owner, Barbara Flanagan was very responsive to all communication from the time signed the rental contract (over a year ago). We would return.

     

    A beautiful vacation condominium in Paradise on St.Croix

     
    I stayed Dec 19-26, 2015 at Calypso Condo, located in the Gentle Winds condominium complex just east of the Salt River/bay. It is a 2 story condominium which is truly a beautiful home away from home delivering all that is advertised, and I felt I was staying in a close friends home while they were away. Private bedroom upstairs with balcony and bath, master bedroom on the first floor (condo is 10 steps up from ground level) with a king, and another bedroom with two beds, both with separate full baths. Very Quiet location. All rooms had large sliding glass doors, and most of the condo faces north to the beach and a large open lawn area and the pool, which is all of a 3-5 minute walk away. The beach is large, no need to go at 6 am to place your towels, no crowding, and although the ocean was wavy and choppy from the winds, there was no seaweed/debris at any time. You cannot go out far because of the shallow reef and waves this time of year, but the pool/beach/ocean were a perfect balance. We were 10 minutes west of Christiansted for meals(Buccaneer Terrace dinner, Angry Nates right on the water for a great Lobster Benedict brunch or lunches) or daytime trips 20 minutes away at Green cay Marina (Teroro for trimaran to Buck Island for snorkeling, though choppy this time of year); and 20 minutes away to the west was Frederiksted for snorkeling in calm waters off of the Cottages by the Sea or the Sand Castle on the Beach, and for scuba with N2 the blue or Cane bay divers; but accommodations there are minimal. The condo was in a perfect location; groceries 5-10 minutes away 7am-9pm, 10-12 minutes from the airport. We had Everything we needed; coffee grinder, pots and pans and utensils which really worked and were as good as we use at home, not the usual rental condo easily broken stuff. Dishes, glasses coffee maker, and linens/pillows better than the Ritz. AC, fans all worked well, the light bulbs were not the usual 20 watt can't see anything fare, they allowed us to read and play cards/board games, all supplied. There were some fins, but bring your own mask/fins/snorkels if you do it a lot, or rent in town/dive shops. We felt really privileged to have found this listing, the best place we stayed in 40 years of ski and sun vacations. NO regrets; take a run to the Salt river National park for a great view, or drive to Rowdy Joes or the Waves for great dinners. You could not buy a better location or home on this Island, or most others either.

    Beautiful Property

     
    We stayed at Calypso the beginning of December. Such a nice condo with super nice amenities. Pool and beach area were super clean and private. The condo had everything you could think of that you might need to enjoy your time on the island. Basketball, golf clubs, snorkel gear, games, sun lotion, bug spray, books, movies, etc. Close to Christiansted and Frederiksted. Our stay here was perfect, the only issues we had at all were with getting the TV to work and we had to go to the main office to get some help with little tiny ants that were in the kitchen. Everyone here was nice and always willing to help. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!

     

    “Great Family Getaway”

    5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015  Source:  FlipKey
     

    We greatly enjoyed our Girls Getaway (three sisters and our two young adult daughters) at Barbara's condo. The location is great, the condo is spacious and comfortable, with a well stocked kitchen and comfortable beds, the beach is relatively secluded with wonderful chairs and huts for shade, the pool is large and clean. Barbara is very responsive - checking with us both before we arrived and during our stay to make sure all was ok. We went in October (off-season) so the grill on the beach was closed, but the upside was there were relatively few people onsite making it a great private getaway. A few dining options within 10-15 minute drive we recommend: Rowdy Joe's (full restaurant and bar) and Off the Wall (pizza and sandwiches). Would stay here again.

     

  • “St. Croix Trip”

    The condo and the grounds were superb. Barbara (the owner) did everything before and during to make our stay great. The pool and beach were good. The condo has everything that you could possibly need. We look forward to staying there again in the future.

  •  
     

    “Beautiful view, great place to staff with family”

    Very clean and well maintained. Comfortable beds with a full kitchen to make any meal. Quiet with a nice pool and beach. Barbara, the owner was easy to contact and answered questions quickly. Amazing view of the beach/ocean from the balcony. Would recommend to anyone coming to St. Croix.

    “Outstanding Family Vacation in St Croix”

    My wife, daughter, grandson and I were treated to an absolutely outstanding vacation experience thanks to Gentle Winds Calypso Condo and the attention to every detail of our stay there by the owner Barbara Flanagan. From the first booking inquiry to questions when we arrived Barbara was so responsive with helpful information. The condo itself far exceeded our expectations - it was immaculate, well laid out and furnished and also featured a kitchen with spices, good quality cookware etc we needed when we cooked in. The Gentle Winds condo community was also immaculate, quiet and so pleasant we actually spent most of our 5 days there. We loved the salt water pool and the beach was also great. There is a small food service there featuring lunches and drinks so you can just veg out in the ever blowing sea breezes. Also large activity rooms with books and tables. We did take a drive to the Eastern most point of the US and did a half day snorkel trip to Buck Island which were also very enjoyable. We ate all but one dinner at the condo using the supplied gas grill. For the last night we drove to the Waves Restaurant on the North shore which was outstanding. My wife and I have traveled extensively using Tauck for our escorted trips. This condo is right up there with the very pricy 5 star Tauck chosen hotels! I can't think of anything I'd change!

     

  • Melo g

     
    My sisters and brother-in laws visited St Croix in August-September, we stayed at Gentle Winds for 7 days. The condo we rented from Barbara was a 5 stars, very spacious, clean and cozy. Anything we needed for outside activities was located in the house. Barbara's correspondence from the beginning of the progress was great and she kept us informed about everything that was required. We had a great time on the island, visiting all the beaches, hot spots and historical land marks. We highly recommend this locations to all!

    Calypso

     
    Excellent accommodation.Quiet and relaxing venue. The food shack very disappointing as very seldom opened. As for the island itself it left a lot to be desired. People superb but roads are very bad. At time of visiting classed as out of season. Buck Island worth a visit as was dinner at the Buccaneer.

    Enjoyably Relaxing and Fun :-)

     
    Calypso Condo far exceeded our expectations. We all appreciated the layout of the condo, giving all 5 of us plenty of room to stretch out and relax. The pool and beach were fantastic, and were even more fun because of all the equipment provided in the storage room! Floatation devices (lol), snorkel gear, sand toys, hats, sports gear, and huge beach towels gave us everything we could want for the water. Inside time was filled playing with board games or watching movies and my daughter enjoyed the doll house!! 2 decks and a screened porch gave us ample space to enjoy the outdoors from the condo. The location is central making Fredricksted or Christiansted easily accessible. We went scuba diving at Cane Bay, rode horses on the beach with Cruzan Cowgirl, and went for an ATV tour with Gecko's -- All fantastic!! Grocery shopping is best at Cost u Less and Plaza Extra West. We left our Cost U Less bag for future guests because they do not provide any bags for your groceries. We also enjoyed church services and Vacation Bible School at Southgate Baptist -- Another thing we highly recommend!! Such a beautiful island and wonderful friendly people!! We loved Calypso Condo!

    Perfect!

     
    We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant, smooth and helpful rental experience. From our first contact to our easy check out everything was perfect! The condo is even much larger and more comfortable than the pictures indicate. Our multi generational party of 5 had far more room than we even needed and the kitchen is one of the best equipped we've ever stayed in. The location is ideal and the grounds, pool and beach well managed. Don't miss the fantastic food and drinks at the snack bar--they really do an incredible job. So many activities on a friendly island to recommend just one or two. This is the ideal place for families and couples alike!

    calypso

     
    We loved the condo and the grounds and pool were very well kept despite the drought. The snack shack and beach were a daily treat. Barbara checked in frequently to make sure that we had everything that we needed. We will definitely stay here again when we revisit the island,

    great time to go

     
    We went what is off season from many but perfect for us.Few people were on the beach or on the scuba diving boat.The condo has a lot of room and felt like home.Cane bay scuba diving boat is docked at bottom of hill from condo.I went to cane bay to snorkel most days.This is the place to stay I would say after being to st croix.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

    Owner response: It's a great location for SCUBA divers isn't it? Glad it felt like home.

    Loved the condo!

     
    We just returned from Barbara's condo, and absolutely loved it. The condo has everything you will need to make your vacation complete. Barbara was wonderful about answering questions and making suggestions before the trip and there is plenty of information about the island once you arrive. We enjoyed every balcony and the screened porch. There were plenty of beach towels and linens for the five of us. Beds were comfortable and kitchen is well stocked. Friends stayed in the building next door, and their condo was clearly a rental unit---Barbara's condo is a home. Gentle Winds is a lovely complex with a good swimming beach and pool. The snack shack on the beach has good and reasonably priced food and drinks. The staff was friendly and helpful. The other guests were friendly and polite. This is not a party place and the island, in general, is quiet and low key. We enjoyed the location in relation to everywhere we wanted to go/explore. It felt very safe and is well maintained. We would stay at Barbara's condo again, without hesitation! Car is recommended

    Look no further!

     
    My two girlfriends joined me for 10 days at this condo. We each had our own bedroom and bathroom, it was perfect. The weather was 80 degrees every day. We visited the pool and the snack shack daily. It was never crowded or noisy and everyone was welcoming. Each evening we would sit on one of the two decks that overlooked the Caribbean and enjoy a glass of wine before heading to dinner. We also appreciated the location of the condo as it was located near many great restaurants. If you are looking for a beautiful place decorated with local art then look no further. Gentle Winds has everything you could ask for and more!

    Beautiful island, friendly people, ideally situated condo

     
    Took the family on a holiday over Christmas break to St. Croix, US Virgin Islands. Was looking for an upper end hotel that could hold 5 people but gave up trying. Found this condo located on the NorthEast side of St. Croix on the grounds of the Gentle Winds community of condominiums. The owner, Barbara, was extremely helpful with information on the condo, grounds, things to do, etc. I am a pretty difficult individual to please (which is why I only gave it a good rating) but it is definitely good. Fully furnished condo, two nice size bedrooms downstairs, with a 3rd bedroom upstairs (along with a good size sitting room and two balconies). Each bedroom had its own bathroom and shower. Very well-appointed condo with everything one needs to cook, rest, relax, and enjoy the truly beautiful grounds, beach, and Caribbean waters. The Gentle Winds has a nice size pool and a fabulous snack shack that serves up great sandwiches and beverages. Great place to meet folks visiting as well as owners. We only went out for dinners which were excellent. Can't say enough about the friendly natives and mainlanders who have retired on the island. Very helpful people and very clean island. I've been around the Caribbean, Central and South America and St. Croix is tops when it comes to clean. Plenty of family activities on the grounds - tennis, modest "golf course," shuffle board, ping pong, and this bean bag toss game. If you like water, this spot has beautiful, clear, and warm waters wtih coral reefs right off the beach - fabulous ocean life too!) Overall, just a marvelous time (weather was fantatistic too - 72 at night low 80s during the day..sunny through our seven day stay). So, go for it and stay at the Calypso Condo. Great location and very responsive owner.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

    Owner response: "Definitely good" can't be all that bad. We'll settle for that. Thanks for finding time to do a review and letting everyone know about the great food at the snack shack and the many activities for families and children. It's interesting to hear that St. Croix is the cleanest island/country that you have visited in your travels in this area.

    Great stay!

     
    Just arrived home from a wonderful time on St Croix. Our condo was perfect for our family! The owner goes over and above to help you have a wonderful trip. We love staying here because its not crowded, its very relaxing. The condo had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Plenty of room for 6 of us. We recommend this condo to everyone. Its a great place to stay.
  • Calypso was beautiful!

    01/15/2015 from FlipKey by Lisa S.

    Just got home from a wonderful time on the island of St. Croix! We loved our condo it was perfect for our family of 6. Everything we needed was there. Plenty of space for everyone. The owner is more than accomodating. She was very helpful with any questions that we had about our stay. I would recommend staying in this condo. It perfect!

     

  • Beautiful island, friendly people, ideally situated condo

    Took the family on a holiday over Christmas break to St. Croix, US Virgin Islands. Was looking for an upper end hotel that could hold 5 people but gave up trying. Found this condo located on the NorthEast side of St. Croix on the grounds of the Gentle Winds community of condominiums. The owner, Barbara, was extremely helpful with information on the condo, grounds, things to do, etc. I am a pretty difficult individual to please (which is why I only gave it a good rating) but it is definitely good. Fully furnished condo, two nice size bedrooms downstairs, with a 3rd bedroom upstairs (along with a good size sitting room and two balconies). Each bedroom had its own bathroom and shower. Very well-appointed condo with everything one needs to cook, rest, relax, and enjoy the truly beautiful grounds, beach, and Caribbean waters. The Gentle Winds has a nice size pool and a fabulous snack shack that serves up great sandwiches and beverages. Great place to meet folks visiting as well as owners. We only went out for dinners which were excellent. Can't say enough about the friendly natives and mainlanders who have retired on the island. Very helpful people and very clean island. I've been around the Caribbean, Central and South America and St. Croix is tops when it comes to clean. Plenty of family activities on the grounds - tennis, modest "golf course," shuffle board, ping pong, and this bean bag toss game. If you like water, this spot has beautiful, clear, and warm waters wtih coral reefs right off the beach - fabulous ocean life too!) Overall, just a marvelous time (weather was fantatistic too - 72 at night low 80s during the day..sunny through our seven day stay). So, go for it and stay at the Calypso Condo. Great location and very responsive owner.

    Great stay!

    Just arrived home from a wonderful time on St Croix. Our condo was perfect for our family! The owner goes over and above to help you have a wonderful trip. We love staying here because its not crowded, its very relaxing. The condo had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Plenty of room for 6 of us. We recommend this condo to everyone. Its a great place to stay.

    Paradise in Paradise

    This was our introduction to the Caribbean and I wanted it to be special for the family. After a day filled with activities (snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing, playing on the beaches), we came home to the best condo in St. Croix! The pictures on the website are exactly what you find when you step through the door. The condo is spectacular and the grounds at Gentle Winds are manicured like a golf course. This is also the first VRBO that we have tried, and Barbara made the process seamless. She is very responsive and accommodating. Thank you for a wonderful vacation. We hope to return next year.
  • “Calypso Condo was even better than expected”
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014    TripAdvisor

    Our stay at Calypso Condo was even better than expected. The unit itself is very well appointed. Everything we needed was right there. There are front and rear sliders so there is always a breeze moving through. No need to use the A/C. There is a nice view of the beach and that is just a short walk away. You can sit at the pool, if you don't like sand and still have a view of the ocean. Cane Bay is a short drive away. We had dinner there and we also snorkeled there. We would definitely recommend staying here. You won't be disappointed.

    A terrific stay at Gentle Winds

    We loved our stay at Calypso Condo in Gentle Winds. When we were choosing which unit to stay, we picked this one since it looked to be nicely appointed. It was even nicer to see in person. The unit is immaculate and has everything you'd want or need during your stay. We never turned on the A/C because of the breezes that were always blowing through the unit. There are sliders in the front and back so it was quite comfortable. We were there during the off season so our restaurant selections were somewhat limited. There are several restaurants nearby. We drove into Christiansted a couple of nights also. We would definitely recommend this unit to someone looking to rent at Gentle Winds.
    • Stayed: September 2014  Submitted: Source: VRBO
    "Great stay”   Reviewed August 24, 2014  FlipKey

         This was our second year staying at Calypso Condo at Gentle Winds, and it was just as good as the first time. One of the reasons we enjoy the condo is that it is clean and has a large, fully stocked kitchen for meal preparation. The grill also came in handy for burgers and chicken. We would definitely stay at Calypso Condo again on a return trip; Barbara was helpful and quick to respond to my many questions.

    Great location for a great value!   Aug 7, 2014

    Date of Stay  July 17, 2014  VRBO
    Clean convenient and loved it!

    Our stay at Gentle Winds St Croix was fantastic!”   Reviewed July 7, 2014 FlipKey

    My husband, daughter, son in law and 10 year old granddaughter just returned from St Croix were we stayed ay Gentle Winds C-2. We have stayed at many condos and this one was fantastic. It had everything we could possibly need. There were beach towels galore. The storage closet had everything you could possibly need for snorkeling, tennis, golf or just fun at the pool. The rooms were more than comfortable and spacious for our group of 5. Barbara always got back to me with any questions we had and was a fountain of information on all thing St Croix. I would recommend this condo and Barbara to anyone going to St Croix.

    Beautiful Condo in Excellent Location  Jul 7, 2014
     
    Date of Stay  June 23, 2014 VRBO
    My extended family (ages 4 months to 85 years) stayed in two units in Gentle Winds for 9 days. Calypso Condo (unit C-2) was great: beautifully decorated, comfortable, fully furnished - everything we needed for young and old! The service was excellent, the pool and beach at Gentle Winds were great, and the location is central to any place you want to go on the island.
     Paradise at Calypso Condo!!!!!!   Aug 8, 2014
    Date of Stay  June 7, 2014 VRBO
    We recently returned from a weeks vacation to St. Croix and stayed at the Calypso Condo in the gated community of Gentle Winds and had a fabulous time!!! The condo was immaculate upon arrival and the unit manager stocked us with some groceries I requested so we didn't have to go out at night. There were six of us and with the three bedrooms, three baths, three balconies and a loft area we did not feel crowded. Barbara, the owner, thought of everything to make our stay enjoyable and feel like our home away from home. The book Life In The Left Lane, the bottle of champagne in the fridge, the starfish necklaces and the gift certificate to the Snack Shack were complimentary gifts to us as Barbara's way of saying thank you for choosing her condo and was very much appreciated. The kitchen was very well-equipped. There were so many books, Wii games, DVDs, VHS movies and board games for all ages to choose from. It was nice having a grill to cookout on since we don't always like to eat out and as we found out food there on St. Croix is expensive. I would definitely come back to St. Croix and stay at the Calypso condo in a heartbeat. The grounds at Gentle Winds were beautifully kept and the people there including the guard, the groundskeepers, and the woman who ran the Snack Shack were very polite. Gentle Winds Condos are also centrally located on the north shore so going to Fredericksted or Christiansted was just a short drive away. Staying in St. Croix in early June was great!! We truly felt we had the place all to ourselves. Besides our family there were maybe 6 other units out of the 65 occupied at the time. No fighting for chaise lounges at the beach or pool. A nice perk to going in the off season. The view from the condo was also spectacular from the beautiful palm trees to the gorgeous blue green ocean to the crystal clear pool. We did all kinds of fun activities while in St. Croix - stand up paddle boarding, snorkeling, kayaking, shopping in Christiansted, touring the Cruzan Rum Factory, watching the sunset at Off the Wall restaurant while playing bingo and watching the sunrise at Point Udall and of course just relaxing on the beach soaking up the sun and reading a good book. I was very impressed that early on in our stay Barbara called and sent me an email checking in with us to see that everything was going well. Needless to say we were all sad to leave but have fond memories and great pictures of our stay there.

    Biloxi Vacationers

    My family and I spent a week at Calypso Condo. It was neat and spacious. The pool was perfect and the beach was great. We met some great people that were also staying in the complex. My son and husband enjoyed the golf and my daughter and I enjoyed the pool. Sheila made some great drinks at the Shack - only wish it had been open more hours. Barbara was a pleasure to work with and quickly answered all of (many) questions.

    Fantastic Vacation Spot!

    My sister-in-law and I enjoyed a week at the Calypso Condo and hope to be repeat customers in the many years to come. Gentle Winds is close to restaurants, snorkeling/diving, kayak rentals. The on-site Snack Bar is great for lunch and/or a pool/beach-side drink.

    Family Vacation

    This was our 20th anniversary vacation. We brought our son and his family with us and we had a great time. Quite a few things have changed since out last visit but we still had a great time. I would also suggest staying on this side of the island and Calypso Condo was very nice. The owners have a very good network of support if you ever have any problems. We were in town for the Iron Man competition and that added a lot of fun to the island.
    • Stayed May 2014  Submitted Source VRBO

    Beautiful Condo Gary Houston, TX 05/05/2014

    We stayed at the Calypso Condo recently and found the accommodations to be excellent. The condo is beautifully appointed and everything that one would need is available. The attention to detail, including the cleanliness of the condo, was far better than most rentals that we stayed at in the past. The resort provides a very nice opportunity to relax on a nice beach or at a resort-style pool. Very good restaurants are nearby. Overall, a great property on a nice location on this island. We would stay here again in a heartbeat if we ever visit St. Croix again.

             
     
         
               
    • Brilliant Sunshine on a Shining Sea

      • Guest Vivian from Florida
      • Date of stay 11/09/12
      • Review Submitted 01/03/14
      We arrived at night and drove to Calypso Condo through what looked like a rather daunting jungle and we were quite nervous.  However, when morning came and we woke up to the sea shining just across the lawn we were delighted. We were doing missionary work and the central location of Gentle Winds was just perfect. We found the unit to be spotless and beautifully decorated, just as advertised. It was all of that and more. I would recommend this site to anyone.
    Raven from Arizona said...
    Nov 24, 2013
     
             My Turn to Choose
     
    Date of Stay October 3, 2013
     
    We are three friends who take turns choosing an exotic destination to cross off our bucket list each year and this year I chose St. Croix. We had a delightful time at Calypso Condo (C-2). It had everything we needed. It was wonderfully decorated, almost luxurious. We spent most of our time on the beach and really appreciated having three bedrooms for three people.
    Shelley  said...
    Nov 18, 2013

     

    Paradise
      
    Date of Stay August 1, 2013
    .
    Our family loved every minute of our vacation in St Croix... It was paradise! We picked the calypso condo based on reviews. We were thrilled from the moment we arrived. The condo was thoughtfully stocked with everything we could possibly need and more. Immaculate. Gorgeous. Well appointed. The location was perfect proximity to Sweet Bottom Dive Shop for our family reef dives. We had the best time relaxing with other guests poolside. To be honest, we did not want to leave. If you are considering this condo rental, book it now.

     

    Wonderful!
     
         
     
    Reviewed by: MI-islandgirl from Cedar
    Reviewed on: 10/28/2013 for their stay in 10/2013
     
    This is a wonderful place, it's like being at home. The photos are true, beds are comfortable, it's updated and clean. It was easy to contact owners or manager. The beach and pool are great and it was quiet when we were there. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay again.
     
     


     

    Absolute Paradise
     (385175)  
      8/16/13
      

    .

    The photos don't do any justice. The compound was magnificent and prestigious !! Barbara, the owner, provided everything you could think of that was available for our use. The guest booklet in C-2 was so very helpful in getting us familiarized with activities, directions, phone numbers and had all the answers to any question we had ( we took it with us everyday )..Would highly recommend and look forward to visiting again sometime soon..
     

    "Excellent!!"

                Date of Stay:  August 8, 2014    Guest:  KB

                  

            Well-maintained, well-appointed, beautiful condo on North Shore. This property is excellent, owner provides outstanding

     customer service.  It just doesn't get better than this!


     

     

    Beautiful Condo
     
    Dee   7/08/13
     
    Barbara's Calypso Condo was one of the best places we ever stayed during a vacation. The unit and the entire property were clean and well maintained. One of the things we liked best was that Gentle Winds was away from the crowds, but close to town when we wanted groceries. Even Fredericksted, where the dive company was located, was only a quick 30 minute drive. Prior to the trip I asked Barbara lots of questions, which she answered very quickly. We ate most of our meals "at home," and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed. We ran out of room in the dishwasher long before we ran out of dishes. The fish tacos at the snack shack were delicious! Since the purpose of our trip was diving (N2 the Blue), we spent the mornings diving and every afternoon on the beach in front of the condo. We had dinner one night in Christiansted at Rum Runners. The fish was definitely fresh and the rum drinks were large. We did Stand Up Paddling at Teres Veho Limin Beach Cafe and Stand Up Paddle. My sons had a great time with the SUP, going all over the bay and under the pier. We were told not to take the cafe at face value because the food was outstanding-and it was. We are already planning a return trip next summer since we didn't get a chance to dive at Cane Bay this time around. Our plans definitely include staying at Calypso Condo

     

    Breath Taken Away & Replaced by Caribbean Breeze        Ellie 3/07/13

    On the taxi ride to Calypso Condo, I couldn't stop saying "everything is sooo beautiful", and even now I find myself longing for the sight (and sound!) of those palms swaying in the breeze outside the window upstairs... We had such a great time -- it was truly a perfect location for a perfect vacation. I loved all of the windows in the unit, and how the Caribbean wind just flows right through the place. We also enjoyed the decor -- I especially liked the colorful paintings, which added a nice personal touch. The homemade binder of information/ideas/things to do, as well as all of the brochures provided were extremely helpful, and so was one of the guys who worked down at the Snack Shack, who recommended Olympic as the best place to rent a car from. Gentle Winds really was the perfect location, since it was relatively close to Cane Bay and Christiansted (and the fantastic Big Beard Buck Island Tours!), and not too far of a drive from Frederiksted, both of which we had the chance to visit. The service we received in renting this particular condo was fantastic, and I *highly* recommend renting from Barbara Flanagan and staying in her Calypso Condo! The unit was literally right across the lawn from the beach (less than a 3-minute walk from the front door until you're dipping your toes in the Caribbean!), and we also really enjoyed the 24/7 pool -- it was particularly fun late at night when the underwater lighting changed colors. This condo was a great fit for my group of 4, but could easily accommodate 6 people, perhaps even 7 or 8, quite comfortably. We adored all of the little balconies and porch areas in the condo, which served as perfect places to enjoy a relaxing dinner or cocktails at sunset. If I return to St. Croix, which I hope I get the chance to do someday, I will definitely be renting again from Barbara, and staying in her beautiful, breezy, Calypso Condo!

    Why Visit St. Croix   

    Why Stay at Gentle Winds Resort   (photos)

      Why Choose Calypso Condo  (photos)

        

    Why Rent  Directly From Owner 

       Calendar           Rates           Return to Home Page

    How to Contact Us       Useful Information